All True.

by Rachel Creager Ireland

It was a wonky day, the kind when I do all kinds of stupid and most of it pointless. Like, going to the bank without one of the checks. (Did I mention the bank is fifteen miles away?) Like, going to the Girl Scout council to buy materials for the meeting tonight, and finding out the council shop was closed. (Also fifteen miles away. More, really, because it’s on the far side of town.) Like, fretting about getting dinner started before the meeting with one kid while the other goes to a soccer game and Dad works late; putting on some soup and immediately remembering that said Dad planned to bring home Chinese food.

One of the Girl Scout moms called to ask if we had a meeting tonight. I said, yes, I’d already texted her, but maybe I sent it to the wrong number?

She said, “I’ll get organized one of these days, I really will.”

I said, “I know you will. I will too.”

What I didn’t say: “Because I have complete faith that everything is going right for us, and we cannot fail. It’s all coming together for us, both of us, we’ll be so organized, people will be scared of us. They’ll say, that Paula and Rachel, watch out for them! They really get things done!”

It’s all true, every word.

We'll be like a roaring prairie fire, clearing out the dead stuff to make way for spring!

We’ll be like a roaring prairie fire, clearing out the dead stuff to make way for spring!

