Blur

by Rachel Creager Ireland

First thing in the morning it occurred to me to buy something, but I knew I’d be tied up and couldn’t get to the grocery store before afternoon. Then I started rushing and sorting and packing Girl Scout cookies and texting and doing math and managing children, my own as well as others.’ Well before I got to the store I knew I had no idea what it was I was supposed to buy there. I stalled on the way, but it didn’t come to me. I talked with my husband about what to buy for dinner, but what was that other thing I was going to get? I wandered the aisles of the store, hoping I would know when I saw it. I was exhausted and bracing myself to come home and do some cleaning and start dinner. I gave up.

As soon as I walked into the kitchen I knew it: lightbulbs. Too tired to go back to the store so I’ll be cleaning and cooking in the dark for another day.

And that’s all I have to say. Too tired to hunt down a cat picture, so here’s one of a girl roller skating. Photo by Kevin Ireland.

There was a better one, but the blurriness is more expressive of how I feel right now.

