100 Word Challenge: Forlorn

by Rachel Creager Ireland

I don't know who gets photo credit. Most likely my daughter Rowan Ireland. Or her sister Kiran.

I don’t know who gets photo credit. Most likely my daughter Rowan Ireland. Or her sister Kiran.

She lay on the lumpy couch, half-listening to static and new-age music through borrowed earbuds. There was a voice singing something like “If I were to fall, would you catch me?” but the sound kept cutting out and she wasn’t sure that was it. Maybe technical problems would kill the teleconference. She’d signed up for a free psychic reading, but the presenter was overwhelmed and had offered this instead, a guided meditation on Finding Your Own Answers. She wouldn’t have taken it, but she needed answers today, answers nobody could give her. The song ended, another began, jazzier, upbeat. She waited.

Thanks to Julia’s Place for the prompt, “fall.” See the site for other entries, and to enter your own.

