The Progeny of Cartographers

by Rachel Creager Ireland

Do they still put these decorative details on maps? Has cartography devolved from art to technical skill?

Do they still put these decorative details on maps? Has cartography devolved from art to technical skill?

I’ve discovered that the title of the story I’m serializing is very similar to that of a book which is already out. The story is “The Cartographer’s Daughters,” while the book is The Cartographer’s Daughter. Technically it’s not an infringement, but it could be confusing to potential readers. I’m thinking about changing the title. One I had earlier thought of was “Black, White, and the Velvety Indigo Blue of Twilit Shadows.” (No, that is not too long, if it is the right title.)

So I thought I’d ask you readers. What do you think?

