The Magic Room

by Rachel Creager Ireland

Burnley Memorial Library is a tiny gem in Cottonwood Falls, Kansas. It’s like a walk-in Little Free Library. Besides a remarkably good selection of the usual library materials and computers, there are always piles and piles of books people have donated, which librarian Susan Davis loves to give away for pretty much any donation a person wants to give. This week I found Better Homes and Gardens’ 1975 Decorating Book.

I wonder if this upper space was originally in this house, or did it magically appear?

I wonder if the upper space was originally in this house, or did it magically appear?

I’ve written previously about the room that appears in a dream, a newly-discovered addition to familiar space. Here’s one I found in this book. I had to look a while before I saw the magic in a tiny loft, where a whole extra wall of space has been created for books. What might be taken for shelving turns out to be a ladder, lit by a skylight, that leads up into space that might previously have held nothing but air. Track lights illuminate the treasures to be found there. If I didn’t live in a single-story, 50s-modern building, I’d love to elevate my consciousness by creating such upper space.

What underutilized spaces exist in your life, waiting to be transformed and harnessed to your higher purposes?

