Dreaming Matriarchal Community

by Rachel Creager Ireland

I haven’t been inspired to blog lately, probably just too busy to let my mind wander, which seems to be an integral part of the creative process. I have had some moments when everything seemed luminous and magical, but my mind couldn’t rise to the occasion and do anything with that. And that’s okay, because it’s most important simply to experience and notice those moments; elucidating is extra. Then there are times when the push to stay in a mental mode conducive to functioning on the mundane level causes all that metaphysical energy to be sublimated to the dreamworld. There were years when the only writing I did was surrealist poetry, because dreams were the only place I could find material worth writing about. And so, today I’m going to write my Easter dream, the most beautiful and joyful dream I’ve had in years.

I was staying at a sort of hippie coop instead of a hotel, while traveling. In actuality, it was run like a hippie coop, but had a feel more like a modern college campus. It was a place I had heard about a long time ago from an old friend (who in waking world no longer speaks to me). This community was gynocentric and/or matriarchal. The people were open and kind. They solved problems by listening to one another and working together to find solutions. Everyone looked out for all the kids. The group was not without dissent; I heard a man complaining about how men weren’t respected here, yet there were other men present who loved the place and felt respected and welcome.

I was with my children. My husband wasn’t there, but was expected to arrive perhaps the next day. The kids were playing while I talked to other adults, and at one point another woman kindly put my younger daughter to sleep with her children.

Someone handed me a spoon. It was one of the treasures held by this community, artifacts of ancient matriarchal and/or goddess-worshipping societies. He rubbed the edge of the bowl of the spoon, and it sang, sort of like a wineglass might, but not just one note. With one touch, the spoon played a whole song, so movingly beautiful that I wept before it was over. The women surrounding me smiled with love and understanding at my tears. I tried to play it again, but all I could get were short single notes.

I was about to take the kids to bed when someone mentioned that I should pay for our stay. I went to get my checkbook, which was in our room in another building. On the way back, someone knocked me down in the darkness. It was a boy, not from this community. He took a basket I was carrying, another of the artifacts. He said it wasn’t fair, that his bike had been stolen. But I got the basket back and went inside. As I was writing the check, the man I was about to give it to told me that payment was actually optional. I was thinking about how much to give, when I saw through a window that both my girls were outside playing with the other kids. It was full dark, late for them to be up, and I had been sure at least one was already asleep. I’d have to gather them as soon as I gave him the check. I gave him $15, asking if it was enough, and he said that he’d only expected me to give $2.

So that’s that. Hope you all had a lovely Easter, if you recognize it, and if not, that your spring brings renewal and light and hope.

